It all began in 1869.
The magnificent stone building is nestled in the pleasant community of Providence and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places in recognition of its "Architectural and Historical significance and to encourage its preservation." Its rich history goes back to the early settlement of Cache Valley.
The first permanent European settlers arrived in the valley in 1856. Construction of the "Rock Meeting House" began in 1869. The original part of the building was constructed in 1869 by pioneers who crossed the country by covered wagons and handcarts. They quarried the rocks, milled the lumber and forged the iron to construct what is now known as the "Old Rock Church." It was an inspired project that testifies to the architectural skills and craftsmanship of these early Mormon settlers. It is the oldest building of its stature in Cache Valley and indeed one of the oldest in the state. It was completed in 1871, 13 years before the Logan Temple was dedicated, and 22 years before the dedication of the Temple in Salt Lake City. The building has now affectionately come to be known by all as the "Old Rock Church."